Soft Skulls

Soft Skulls

Slacker garage psych pop

Soft Skulls was founded in 2015 as the new vehicle for songwriter Jim McTurnan (Cat-A-Tac), who creates, "...blissful pop songs that wear a snarl..." according to KEXP, and whose past work Under The Radar magazine described up as, "...My Bloody Valentine with a few licks of Pete Townshend..."

Soft Skulls features Jim McTurnan (vocals, guitar), Tyler Campo (bass, backing vocals), Madison Lucas (drums), and Robin Lucas (guitar, backing vocals).

Soft Skulls made its first live outings in Denver, Colorado during summer 2015, playing the Hi-Dive's annual Garage Fest and the Denver Post's Underground Music Showcase.

Soft Skulls recorded its debut four song EP between April and August of 2015 with Jamie Hillyer at Module Overload. The tracks were mastered in August 2015 by Dominick Maita (Bryan Ferry, Bronski Beat) at Airshow Mastering in Boulder, CO.

R.I.Y.L.: King Tuff, Ty Segall, The War on Drugs, Sonic Youth, The Jesus and Mary Chain, Dinosaur Jr, Spoon, Swervedriver, Slowdive, Guided By Voices, TV on the Radio, etc.

With his past projects, Jim McTurnan has provided support for Art Brut, The Black Angels, Cold War Kids, Lou Barlow, and many others. He's also shared festival billing with the Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs, The Walkmen, Phoenix, The Flaming Lips, The Dandy Warhols, and others.

Read more… close
0:00 / ???
  1. 1
    0:00 / 3:15
  2. 2
    0:00 / 3:50
  3. 3
    0:00 / 2:42
  4. 4
    0:00 / 4:38